Eagles Win City, Regional Championship

Thursday, October 29 2020 - Chicago Public League Championships (Boys Frosh/Varsity Divisions) - Aaron Hou

Despite extensive modifications throughout the year due to COVID-19 protocols, the Eagles kicked off their 2020 post-season run in impressive fashion after wrapping up a successful, albeit it different, regular season campaign.  

For the third year in a row, the boys varsity team captured the Chicago Public League City Championship, making it the program's fifth title in nine years, before taking to the course again the following weekend to win their first IHSA Regional Championship in seven years.  

Senior Aaron Hou led the way in both contests as he took home runner-up honors at the CPL Champonships and the individual title at Regionals.  In both races Hou was backed up by seniors Andy Niser, Michael Sommese, Luke Benes and Ryan San Juan, and juniors Alan Menninger and Ethan Sterling.  Collectively, the seven earned All-City honors for a dominating score of twenty points at the CPL Championships and combined for a twenty-five point win in the first round of the IHSA State Series.  

The varsity line-up is still undefeated heading into the final week of the season, but are not the only level who has enjoyed a winning year.  

Winning for the second straight year, the boys freshmen team also posted a commanding victory at the Chicago Public League Championships to win the program's tenth Freshmen City Championship in eleven years, finishing 1-2-3-4-6, almost equaling their perfect score from 2019.  

Freshman Andrew Nelson continued his strong high school debut to take home the individual title, followed close behind by his former grade school teammate Alexander Leonard in the runner-up spot. Sam Berlinghof, Spencer Dixon and Paxton Hengesbach rounded out the scoring with big runs to also earn All-City honors. 

In the sophomore race, the Eagles recaptured the City Championship to bring home Jones' sixth sophomore title in program history.  Leading the way and continuing his streak of individual wins was sophomore newcomer Matthew DeSantis who captured the individual championship by over ten seconds.  The sophomore team also placed six runners in the top-ten, with Daniel Leonard, Esteban Medina, Jayden Reyes, Dev Dassani and Sam Mortensen all earning All-City honors en route to the commanding team win.  

Due to COVID-19 protocols, the JV division was contested six days prior at Washington Park.  Senior Michael Rizk led the Eagles to a runner-up finish with an individual runner-up finish of his own.  Rizk was joined on the All-City team by Alexander Papadopoulos, Joseph Scalise, Ned Wojcik and Josh Lazar.  

The Eagles will return to action this Saturday as they conclude their official IHSA season at the Sectional Championships in Lincoln Park.  

2020 IHSA All-Regional Team Honors

Aaron Hou (Sr.), Regional Champion

Andy Niser (Sr.), Regional Runner-up

2020 Chicago Public League All-City Honors (Varsity)

Aaron Hou (Sr.), Runner-up

Andy Niser (Sr.), 3rd Place

Michael Sommese (Sr.), 4th Place

Alan Menninger (Jr.), 5th Place

Luke Benes (Sr.), 6th Place

Ryan San Juan (Sr.), 7th Place

Ethan Sterling (Jr.), 10th Place

2020 Chicago Public League All-City Honors (Freshmen)

Andrew Nelson, City Champion

Alexander Leonard, Runner-up

Sam Berlinghof, 3rd Place

Spencer Dixon, 4th Place

Paxton Hengesbach, 6th Place

2020 Chicago Public League All-City Honors (Sophomore)

Matthew DeSantis (So.), City Champion

Daniel Leonard (So.), 3rd Place

Esteban Medina (So.), 4th Place

Jayden Reyes (So.), 5th Place

Dev Dassani (So.), 6th Place

Sam Mortensen (So.), 7th Place

2020 Chicago Public League All-City Honors (JV)

Michael Rizk (Sr.), Runner-up

Alexander Papadopoulos (Jr.), 6th Place

Joseph Scalise (Jr.), 8th Place

Ned Wojcik (Sr.), 9th Place

Josh Lazar (Sr.), 13th Place